The First Pattern Ever

An Ode to Beautiful Yarn

When I set out to create a brand new pattern, it took me a moment to realize: there are no new patterns, just new ways of doing other patterns. Think about it. There are only so many knit and crochet stitches in existence. There are a finite number of ways to putting them together.  When we’re talking about Broomstick Lace, that has to be restrained to a specific yardage, in a certain weight, that also limits the options.

So this is not so much my “I’m so creative I invented a brand new crochet pattern” announcement. Rather, it is my, “I tried my very best to put together a fun, user-friendly, beginner-encouraging, experienced-attention-holding, slightly unique pattern for a fun and interesting crochet-along” announcement.

The best thing about this is the yarn. It shines. LITERALLY. It drapes. BEAUTIFULLY. And it will knock your socks off when you see the simple, sensational results.  Two posts in, and you will probably get sick of my gushing over Expression Fiber Arts, but the creative genius just astounds me. Who knew you could combine silk and merino wool into a single-ply yarn? Well, Chandi, obviously! Her Pearlescent Worsted yarn – if the stashes on Ravelry are anything to go by – are the second most popular in her store (her Resilient is the most, and I will happily rave about that another day).

When she announced a Fingering version of her Superwash Merino Silk Pearlescent, I jumped all over that. The colors are out of this world breathtaking. The silk just soaks up the dye like you wouldn’t believe. And the squish factor is off the charts.  I made my son a slouch hat using the Worsted Pearlescent over Christmas, and I kept having to stop and squeeze my work because it was just too yummy!

So as soon as we agreed that the Winter 2016 KAL and CAL were going to feature the Pearlescent Fingering yarn, I knew that we had to do Broomstick Lace!

Version1

Without further ado, let me introduce the Pearlescent Broomstick Lace Scarf, Infinity Scarf, and Wrap.

Pearlescent Broomstick Wrap Scarf

Leave a Reply

